Location: N55° 30` 13.7", E23° 57` 53.6"
The rebellion in 1863-1864 was against the government of the Russian Empire in the 19th century of the peoples of the former Republic of Two Nations for national and social liberation. The fights for freedom took place in Poland and the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and their ethnographic parts - Belarus and Ukraine, which were occupied by the Russian Empire. The rebellion was suppressed, the rebels brutally punished, and the most painful consequence to the Lithuanian culture was the ban of Lithuanian press in Latin letters.
Paberžė village is located at the confluence of the streams Liaudė and Nykis, 32 km from Kėdainiai. Paberžė manor was founded several centuries ago, and its owners, Šilingai, are known only from the end of the 18th century – the beginning of the 19th century, when they built the manor surviving so far. It believed that the palace was built in 1793. The landlord was an active sponsor of the rebellion in 1863. In 1864, after the defeat of the rebellion, Earl Šilingas was exiled to Siberia, and the Paberžė mansion was donated to tsarist official I. Tichejev. The latter did not live there and rented the mansion to the German Batcher, who founded a school, funded the feeding of the students, and before the First World War made it possible for local farmers to buy the estate lands.
Paberžė Manor has the only Museum of the Rebellion of 1863 in Lithuania. The museum is surrounded by a beautiful park, where you can see wooden sculptures for the killed rebels from Paberžė neighbourhoods created by the folk artist Genrikas Galvanauskas. There is a rebellion remembrance barrow in front of the palace in the park. Musical evenings, meetings and celebrations take place in the park.
The Museum of the Rebellion of 1863 was opened in Paberžė mansion in 1993 by Kėdainiai District Municipality. The museum is equipped with a memorial exhibition of the rebellion chief priest Antanas Mackevičius (1828 - 1863), who worked in Paberžė in 1855 – 1863. The exposition reflects commander’s childhood, education and years of work, introduces the fights of Antanas Mackevičiaus and his squad of rebels. There are personal items, furniture, documents, commander’s dying letter, manuscripts and others. All exhibits are reminiscent of the rebellion in 1863, its progress and suppression. You will also find a rebel weapons, personal items, documents, illustrative material. The most famous Lithuanian painter’s and graphic’s art works depicting insurgents fighting, and perpetuating their memory are also exhibited. Installation, other design solutions (furniture exposition, various forms of stands, exposition lighting) enhances the existing exhibits, and information provided to a visitor in a modern, interesting and suggestive way. The Museum of the Rebellion of 1863 hosts events, exhibitions of art works. The working hours: Mon. – Sat. 9 am – 5 pm.
Paberžė Blessed Virgin Mary Church and rectory, Gudžiūnų Parish, Paberžė village. Paberžė estate owner Earl Šilingas built a wooden church in 1787 but it quickly burned out. In 1858 a wooden St. Virgin Mary Church was built (standing now). A Capuchin monk, priest Algirdas Mykolas Dobrovolskis - Father Stanislaw was appointed to Paberžė in 1966. The priest repaired and decorated the church and arranged the village cemetery. He built original monuments in the churchyard and the cemetery He established a unique ecclesiastical and folk art museums in the rectory and a nearby granary. Father Stanislaw accumulated a unique collection of liturgical vestments and ritual accessories in the rectory. Paberžė became famous during the Soviet period because the priest Father Stanislaw (Algirdas Mykolas Dobrovolskis) was a parson there.