Palemonas Mountain. Seredžius
Location: N55° 4` 51.60", E23° 25` 8.40"
Seredžius is a town in Jurbarkas district. It is situated on a picturesque confluence of the Dubysa and the Nemunas near the road Kaunas-Jurbarkas. In the centre there is the neo Revival style St. John the Baptist Church (built in 1913), Seredžius primary school, and a post office (LT-74051). The town depends to Panemuniai Regional Park. There is a historic landscape park set toward Kaunas side (30 hectares). In the southern part of the town there are burial grounds, dating back to the 3rd and 4th centuries. On the opposite bank of the Nemunas there is a village Kriūkai. There is an excellent view from the mountain. Seredžius mound stands in the west of the town. Pieštvės historic castle stands remotely from the town.
In the Middle Ages Crusaders’ Castle (Dubysa Castle) stood at the current Seredžius, on the Nemunas and Dubysa’s confluence. This was an important Lithuanian defence point - the Pieštvės castle stood on the Seredžius mound. It was destroyed in 1363. A town, which had a market and later fairs privilege, began to settle in the middle of the 16th century. The coat of arms of the town was approved by Presidential Decree on 22 October 1999.
The origin of the name. According to J. Otrembskis’ opinion the Seredžius name could arise from the Slavic word sereda (Wednesday) - the day when the markets were held weekly.
Palemonas Hill. Seredžius mound became known as Palemonas Hill at the beginning of the 19th century. According to a legend, Samogitian and Lithuanian ruler Palemonas was buried there. The legend tells us that the Duke Palemonas was persecuted by the Roman Emperor and together with his family reached our country navigating the Baltic Sea. Later he reached Seredžius current location sailing along the Nemunas, the Duke pitched a castle there and stayed for the rest of his life.
The Pieštvės castle was standing on the Palemonas Hill from 1293 till 1363. It was burned by Crusaders. The castle was rebuilt again after the Battle of Grunwald and was mentioned in 1412-1413. The Palemonas Hill, on which the castle stood, is thought to have been considered as a sacred place for the ancient rite.
5 km from Seredžius by the river Dubysa there is Padubysys mill. It stands in Padubysys village, Jurbarkas district. Padubysys manor mill is unique as it has preserved its technological equipment and architectural expression. The estate was at the top and the Mill was at the bottom terrace of the Dubysa Valley. The Padubysys mill was built in about 1920 by the landowner Juozas Butkevičiaus. The former manor deteriorated, but the mill is preserved well. There is a large part of the former technological equipment preserved: an edgestone, a grain cleaning machine, three rolls, two bag filters and some more. Padubysys mill is running, but it‘s not driven by water but by the modern technologies applied.